About

Mission Statement

The Middle Tennessee Chapter Society for Neuroscience (MTNCSfN) was formed to unite neuroscience in Nashville and the surrounding area.

Chapter activities are designed to promote the exchange of information and ideas between neuroscientists at all levels and to inform the public about brain science.

Who We Are

President:

Aurelio Galli, Ph.D.

Vanderbilt University School of Medicine Professor of Molecular Physiology and Biophysics, Professor of Psychiatry

E-mail: aurelio.galli@vanderbilt.edu

 

Secretary/Treasurer:

Anita Disney, Ph.D.

Vanderbilt University School of Medicine Assistant Professor of Psychology

E-mail: anita.disney@vanderbilt.edu

 

 

 

Graduate Student Representative:

Sahana Kalburgi

Vanderbilt University Neuroscience Graduate Program

E-mail: sahana.nagabhushan.kalburgi@vanderbilt.edu

 

 

 

Postdoctoral Representative:

Nicholas Ward, Ph.D.

Vanderbilt University Medical Center Research Fellow

E-mail: nicholas.j.ward@Vanderbilt.Edu

 


 

President- Past:

Kevin Currie, Ph.D.

Vanderbilt University School of Medicine Professor of Anesthesiology and Pharmacology

E-mail: kevin.currie@vanderbilt.edu

 

 

 

 

Secretary/Treasurer – Past:

Eun-Sook Lee, Ph.D.

Meharry Medical College Associate Professor of Physiology

E-mail elee@mmc.edu

 

 

Eddie_HickmanGraduate Student Representative-Past:

Eddie Hickman

Vanderbilt University Neuroscience Graduate Program

E-mail francis.e.hickman@vanderbilt.edu

 

 

 

 

DipanwitaGhosePostdoctoral Representative-Past:

Dipanwita Ghose, Ph.D.

Vanderbilt University Medical Center Research Fellow Anesthesiology

E-mail dipanwita.ghose@vanderbilt.edu

 

 

 

Postdoctoral Representative:

Sarah Baum, Ph.D.

Vanderbilt University Medical Center Research Fellow

E-mail: sarah.h.baum@vanderbilt.edu

 

 

 

 

Nicole Baganz Blakely LabOutreach Representative-:

Nicole Baganz, Ph.D.

Vanderbilt University Medical Center Research Fellow

E-mail: nicole.baganz@vanderbilt.edu

 

 

 

 

MTNCSfN Past-Presidents:

Bruce Carter, Ph.D.
Vanderbilt University Professor Biochemistry

Vivien Casagrande, Ph.D.
Vanderbilt University Professor Cell & Developmental Biology, Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences

Sanika Chirwa, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Physiology, Meharry Medical College
Adjunct Associate Professor Vanderbilt University

Elaine Sanders-Bush, Ph.D.
Professor, Pharmacology and Psychiatry, Vanderbilt University (Retired)
(Past) Director, Vanderbilt Brain Institute/Vanderbilt Neuroscience Graduate Program